top of page
  • Writer's pictureAstronethra

Avastha of Planets - State of Planets

Sage Parasara identifies different states of the planets according to their position and certain conditions in any chart. These are called “Avasthas”of the planets.

The avasthas are divided into five major sub divisions. These are called

  1. Balyadhi Avasthas – (state of planets related to age)

  2. Jagrathadi Avasthas – (state of planets related to alertness)

  3. Lajjithadi Avasthas – (state of planets relating to mood)

  4. Deepthadi Avasthas – (state of the planets relating to attitude)

  5. Sayanadi Avasthas – (state of the planets relating to activity)

Odd signs (Male) in astrology are – Aries, Gemini, Leo, Libra, Sagittarius, Aquarius.

Even signs (Female) in astrology are – Taurus, Cancer, Virgo, Scorpio, Capricorn, Pisces.

Balyadi Avasthas
Deepthadi and Jagrathadi Avasthas

Sayanadi Avasthas

Sayanadi avasthas are based on the position of the planets on various nakshatras or constellations.

Shayanadi Avastha are :

  1. Sayana – resting or lying down

  2. Upavesana – Fasting

  3. Netrapani – Tears

  4. Prakasana – Shining

  5. Gamana – Going or departure

  6. Aagamana – Arrival or appearance

  7. Sabha – Assembly

  8. Agama – To go or Appearance

  9. Bhojana – Eating

  10. Nrityalipsa – Dancing

  11. Kautuka – Curious

  12. Nidra – Sleeping

339 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page